Back to Blog & Insights
Education

Two grants, two payment months, and one date in November for governors

Qurexa Editorial Team15 October 20267 min read 0 0
Two grants, two payment months, and one date in November for governors

What happened

On 14 October 2026, the Department for Education published its regular update bulletin for local authorities, academies and further education providers in England. It is a dry document, and it contains several things that matter to anyone running or governing a school. Four items stand out. First, the schools budget support grant allocations for 2026 have been published. Local authorities will be paid in October 2026. Academies will be paid in November 2026. The bulletin does not publish the amounts in the text; those are on the linked allocation tables. Second, the early years teachers' pay grant allocations for the 2026 to 2027 financial year have been published. Local authorities will be paid in October 2026, and they are asked to pass payments on to eligible providers "as soon as possible". The conditions of grant, the methodology, the rates and a calculator tool were published back in July 2026. Third, for further education, the department confirmed that eligible adult skills fund delivery of up to 10 per cent above allocation for 2025 to 2026 will be funded. This remains subject to affordability and to assurance and track record checks under the 2025 to 2026 funding rules. Payments will be calculated after R14 and final funding claims are received and reviewed. Providers are asked to make sure individualised learner record and funding claim data are accurate and that all delivery is fully evidenced. Fourth, academies are asked to submit their audited financial statements for 2025 to 2026, and members of the risk protection arrangement are invited to a regulatory mock trial on Tuesday 10 November 2026, from 9am to midday, bookable through MS Teams.

Why this matters

Most parents never read a DfE bulletin, and there is no reason they should. But the things in it decide what a school can actually afford to do in the spring term. Take the early years teachers' pay grant. It exists to help fund pay for qualified teachers working in early years settings. The money goes to local authorities, who then have to pass it on to eligible providers. That handover is where delay happens, and delay matters enormously to a small nursery whose staffing budget has no slack in it at all. The instruction to pass it on "as soon as possible" is there for a reason. The schools budget support grant has a timing quirk worth understanding. Councils get paid in October; academies get paid in November. For a trust finance director working to a monthly cash flow, a month is not nothing. The adult skills over-delivery item is the one that sounds most technical and affects the most adults. Colleges and training providers often teach more than their allocation allows, because people turn up wanting courses. If that extra delivery is not funded, the provider swallows the cost, and the following year it caps enrolment to avoid the risk. Confirming funding for up to 10 per cent over-delivery is what keeps those course places open. And the audited accounts deadline is the kind of thing that only becomes news when it goes wrong. A recent Ofqual and DfE pattern has been enforcement action where records and reporting were not in order.

What the evidence actually says

This is an operational bulletin, and it should be read as one. There is no new policy here and no new money announced. The bulletin itself does not state grant amounts. The allocations are published separately on GOV.UK. Anyone wanting to know what a specific school or council is getting has to look at the tables, not the bulletin. The only firm dates are payment months, October 2026 for local authorities and November 2026 for academies, and the 10 November event. No submission deadlines are stated in the bulletin text for the audited accounts, which means the standing deadline in the Academies Accounts Direction applies rather than a new one. The adult skills funding commitment is conditional. The phrase to notice is "subject to affordability and assurance and track record checks". That is not a blank cheque, and payment will only be calculated after R14 and final claims are reviewed. Providers who have not evidenced delivery properly may not receive it. For context, the wider funding picture in English education is tight rather than generous. The Office for Students had its allocation for 2026-27 confirmed at £1,252 million, a reduction of £50.9 million on the previous year. The Institute for Government's Performance Tracker 2026, published on 7 October 2026, reported that fewer than half of pupils with special educational needs and disabilities say they enjoy coming to school, and that the average secondary pupil with an education, health and care plan now misses nearly a day of school every week. So a bulletin confirming that grants will be paid on time is genuinely good news in its small way. It is not a sign of abundance.

Practical advice

Different readers need different things from this. If you are a school governor or trustee, two actions. Check that your trust's audited financial statements for 2025 to 2026 are on track, and ask your finance lead directly rather than assuming. And if your trust is in the risk protection arrangement, the regulatory mock trial on 10 November from 9am to midday is a free training session that is genuinely useful; registration is through the DfE's bulletin link. If you run or work in an early years setting, ask your local authority when the early years teachers' pay grant will reach you. The money goes to the council in October with an instruction to pass it on promptly. Asking the question in late October is reasonable and often effective. If you work for a college or training provider, the practical task is evidence. The over-delivery funding depends on individualised learner record accuracy and on delivery being fully evidenced. That work is far easier done now than during an audit. If you are a parent, the useful thing is to know these levers exist. If your child's school is cutting something you care about, the governing body is the right place to ask why, and governors have access to exactly this information. Governor meetings have published minutes, and most schools will tell you who the chair of governors is if you ask the office. And if you are thinking about adult learning yourself, the practical point is that course places funded through the adult skills fund are still being supported this year. If there is a course you have been putting off, the funding position for this year is better than it might be next year. Your local college's adult learning team can tell you what is free and what is not; many courses are fully funded for people without a level 2 qualification or on a low income.

What to know

The Department for Education published its update bulletin on 14 October 2026 for local authorities, academies and further education providers in England. Schools budget support grant allocations for 2026 are published. Local authorities are paid in October 2026, academies in November 2026. Early years teachers' pay grant allocations for 2026 to 2027 are published. Local authorities are paid in October 2026 and asked to pass payments to eligible providers as soon as possible. Conditions of grant, methodology, rates and a calculator were published in July 2026. Adult skills fund delivery of up to 10 per cent above allocation for 2025 to 2026 will be funded, subject to affordability and to assurance and track record checks. Payments are calculated after R14 and final claims. Academies are asked to submit audited financial statements for 2025 to 2026. Risk protection arrangement members are invited to a regulatory mock trial on Tuesday 10 November 2026, 9am to midday. The bulletin does not state amounts; those are in the separate allocation tables on GOV.UK. Sources: GOV.UK (Department for Education), "DfE Update 14 October 2026", 14 October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/dfe-update-14-october-2026; GOV.UK (Department for Education), "DfE Update local authorities: 14 October 2026", 14 October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/dfe-update-14-october-2026/dfe-update-local-authorities-14-october-2026; Institute for Government, "Performance Tracker 2026: Schools", 7 October 2026, https://www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/publication/performance-tracker-2026/schools This article is for general information and is not financial, legal or professional advice on school governance. For decisions about your school's finances, follow the Academies Accounts Direction and take advice from your auditor or local authority finance team.

#school funding#early years#academies#local authorities#DfE#governance

Related articles